Reviews

The Slightly True Story of Cedar B Hartley.

The slightly true story of Cedar B Hartley. A funny, tender and wise story about nearly-13-year-old Cedar B. Hartley - 'exasperating and potentially infamous' - who loses her dog, finds a new friend, becomes an acrobat, and learns some bitter-sweet truths about family, community and herself. A captivating debut novel by a distinctive new writer.Cedar's adventures have featured in Australian awards such as the CBC Awards, the NSW, VIC + QLD Premier's Literary Awards + the White Ravens, a list of outstanding children's books administered by the International Youth Library

Once in a while you read a book so perfect you can’t imagine it being written any other way. To change the name of even the most minor of characters or to rejig some of the action would be a senseless act of vandalism.

For me, The Slightly True Story of Cedar B Hartley (Who Planned an Unusual Life) by Martine Murray is one such book. Originally published in Australia in 2002, this is a novel I’ve been itching to review on these pages, but now the time has come, I do so with mixed feelings. Part of me wants to keep it to myself, buying it for family and friends as a special treat, as “our secret”. Part of me wants to shout its brilliance from the roof tops………

This isn’t a book big on action. If you’re looking for elf wars go elsewhere. It is a book about growing up, growing friendship, being different and about acrobatics…..

On the matter of growing up, this book is as authentic as any early Margaret Atwood novel, and that’s coming from a huge Atwood fan. Although I suspect that this is a book which will be read mainly by girls, The Slightly True Story… is very funny, deeply moving and just about all you could ask for in a novel for children of either sex, or adults come to that. And, no, I’ve never met Martine Murray and I’m not on commission. Cedar B Hartley does, indeed, have an unusual life and this is a very unusual book. Treasure it. Philip Ardagh. The Guardian.

“…a wise, witty and endlessly inventive narrative…It’s a seriously charming and brilliant addition to Australian literature for young people.” Robyn Shehan- Bright. (Australian Book Review, April 2002)

 “After all, if you don’t ask the world questions, then you won’t ever work out where the rainbow begins.” And, boy, does Cedar B. Hartley have questions!

Debut Australian author Martine Murray is a writer to watch. Equal parts Pippi Longstocking and Anastasia Krupnik, her audacious Aussie tomboy Cedar will quickly charm the Capri pants off the female pre-teen set with her pithy sayings and sweet naiveté. A thoughtfully placed glossary of Cedar’s slang is included at the end of the novel for those young readers unfamiliar with the jargon “down-under.” A delightful must-read for fans of Paula Danziger and Jacqueline Wilson. (Ages 12 and older) –Jennifer Hubert

 With unique and fully realized supporting characters and a multiethnic, urban environment, this story vibrates with authenticity. At a crucial moment, Cedar thinks, “Sometimes life hits you at such a startling lightning kind of angle, that you get pushed off your normal viewing spot. You stop knowing how things are. Instead of what you know, there are the patterns that stars make; the sound of the night breathing; the small aching spot where your feet touch the earth.- You think that if there is an It, you and It are nearly touching.” This unique, vulnerable, and hugely likable protagonist has the potential to push readers off their “normal viewing spots.” Small, wonderfully quirky line drawings accompany this breezy yet serious novel, which includes an amusing glossary of Australian terms.
Susan Patron, Los Angeles Public Library

  

How to make a bird

martine murray

Short-listed, USBBY (United States Board of Books for Young People) list of Outstanding International Books for ch, 2011
Winner, QLD Premier’s Literary Award for Young Adults, 2002
Short-listed, CBCA Notable Books for Older Readers, 2004
Commended, Kraft Foods Prize for Young Adult Fiction, 2002
Commended, Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Young Adults, 2002

“ Martine Murray is one of the most original, irrepressible and exciting “voices” to be heard amongst writers at present.” (Viewpoint, Summer 2003 Moira Robinson)

“ Murray is an exceptional talent and this is a marvellous book.” (Australian Book Review Jan 2003) Robyn Sheahn-Bright.

Although Mannie’s defining attributes—acute self-consciousness and claustrophobic intensity—are hallmarks of many YA heroines, Murray’s powerful lyrical voice and close observation breathe new life into them…. First published in Australia in 2003, the novel offers an especially vivid sense of place—the harsh but open rural landscape and densely populated yet lonely, urban Melbourne. Kirkus reviews

Writing with an unusual sensitivity and a poet’s sensibility, Murray (The Slightly True Story of Cedar B. Hartley) details the tragedy-ridden life of 17-year-old Mannie Clarkeson. ….”I’d just float off, figuring that life would be better if I was a bird and not a girl with a bung leg and bad thoughts.” Mannie has high hopes, but her past and the loss of her love interest weigh down her journey. Told in a sweeping and elegant series of flashbacks, this novel, first published in Australia in 2003, presents a delicate internal journey and a sophisticated meditation on the struggle to find wholeness in broken pieces. Publishers Weekly

 

 Henrietta

Hello everybody, it's me, Henrietta (future Queen of the Wide Wide Long Cool Coast of the Lost Socks), and my brother Albert, who dribbles and dribbles (but he can't help it), and my best friend Olive Higgie (who has been known to eat pickles). And we've got an EMERGENCY DILEMMA to attend to. We absolutely have to find a home for the Rietta because it's lost and its spots are fading...

 

I'm Henrietta P. Hoppenbeek the First. I have a baby brother, two white mice, a chocolate-coloured dog, a woolly mammoth, two long green socks with toes, one pickle-eating best friend, a bathtub for sailing in, and definitely a huge HUGE amount of discoveries to discover... And if anyone tells you I make things up, you better believe it. Henrietta

We’ve got an EMERGENCY DILEMMA to attend to. We absolutely have to find a home for the Rietta because it’s lost and its spots are fading…

This is the second book featuring Henrietta P. Hoppenbeek, a delightful first-person narrator who takes young readers along on her adventures to the imaginary Wide Wide Long Cool Coast of the Lost Socks, the land of which Henrietta is the future Queen. She travels with her best friend Olive Higgie (who has been known to eat pickles) and her baby brother Albert (who dribbles and dribbles, and also does other disgusting things like pooing his nappy), sailing in the bathtub to take the miserable Rietta home.

The hard cover format of this little offering, coupled with the illustrations – a combination of child-like sketches and collage – and design elements such as text which wanders over the pages, makes it visually appealing, and the whimsical text make it sure to appeal to readers of all ages, though it is primarily aimed at younger children.

 

The third fabulous Henrietta story. When Henrietta sets a trap for 'something' under her bed, she finds a teeny tiny person with wings. It's Mabel May Hissop, a fairy with boyfriend trouble. With Mabel's special silver key and an invitation to the Big Bunch of Small Creatures Ball, Henrietta opens the door to a very sparkly adventure.

 

Henrietta, The Great Go-Getter is a fun book with its unlikely encounters, bizarre creatures and inventive layout. The freshness and whimsicality of the little girl’s narrative are somewhat reminiscent of Lauren Child’s Clarice Bean. The characters, in their mild oddity, are well rounded and their relationships spot on. Olive may be a secondary character, but she is not a secondary person. She too can be clever and, as Henrietta puts it, ‘you have to admit it when someone else on the team has a good thought’. Same goes for Albert, the dribbling, burping baby, whom his sister ‘accidentally love(s)’.

Murray’s watercolour illustrations are a perfect match for her text. The soft purples and beiges echo the gentle poetry of the tale, while the clear, bold lines reinforce its sharpness and quirkiness.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s